homemade dry shampoo; crazy cheap AND free of nasty chemicals!

Dry shampoo is one of my favourite products but after deciding to try to use fewer chemicals and utilise a bit more of nature’s helping hand with my skin, hair and beauty routines (you can read that post here) I thought this would be as good an item to start with!  The brand I use also has a pretty high hazard rating (if you don’t know what I’m on about and want to find out check out the link above) so all the more reason to try something new!  I got this little recipe from Alex Raye’s blog – definitely worth a peek if you’re interested in looking to do beauty naturally as she has great tips, sound advice and is happy to answer questions!

Photo 23-04-2013 22 27 59Photo 23-04-2013 22 28 47

homemade dry shampoo

  • 1 part bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 part cornflour
  • cocoa powder optional depending on hair colour (being blonde I didn’t use any)

Mix together and rub a small amount into hair where wanted.

Just as good as the stuff I was using before – if not better 🙂  Brilliant!

big love

gollygoshgirl xx

 

8 thoughts on “homemade dry shampoo; crazy cheap AND free of nasty chemicals!

  1. So I know dry hair shampoo is quite the thing these days but – short of spending three days at a music festival with four hour queues for the solar-powered showers – er, why?

      • Volume. Interesting. My hair can be quite pouffy when it’s grumpy so that’s not something I’ve really bothered about. Does it make getting-towards-wash-day hair smell better, or just look less greasy?

      • To be honest my hair doesn’t really get greasy – just the fringe. And I’ve never noticed it smelling either – maybe I’m super unaware! I know a few people that say dry shampoo makes their hair easier to style and better at holding the style too 🙂

  2. Pingback: homemade, all-natural and organic haircare; the No ‘Poo method | gollygoshgirl

  3. Pingback: beauty; naturally! (a little challenge) | gollygoshgirl

  4. Hey golly gosh girl, I just wanted to let you know that I am nominating you for a “Wonderful Team Member” award later today. All your posts help us with your research and your sweet, unselfish spirit shines through. Congratulations and check out my site for more details. This one’s soooo easy!

Leave a Reply

