yummy, filling and crazy-healthy stir fry recipe

602102_10151630224064714_922952908_n

To be honest, this is pretty adaptable so just add in whatever tickles your fancy! It can be vegan, fat-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, nut free (you get the picture)….pretty darn good ey?!?

I am very much on a budget so it’s often cheaper to choose certain ingredients over others (for example beans rather than turkey and whatever veg is on offer or in season). Buying frozen vegetables is also cheaper than fresh and they tend to retain more nutrients; win! I buy Fairtrade where possible if I’m not buying local – sometimes a teensy bit pricier but SO worth it to ensure fair working conditions for those who produce it. Add in as much variety as possible of veg – the more colours you use the more nutrients you’re adding (it’s ALL about ‘eating the rainbow’)!

This truly does fill me up and I regularly eat it for lunch. I usually make enough for at least 8 meals and freeze them ready for the week. That way I can alternate them with other meals I’ve pre-prepared and frozen so I don’t feel like I’ve eaten exactly the same thing every day (which, let’s face it; no one wants to do!)

Simply use lemon juice to fry off the onions and garlic then add your ingredients in whatever order you prefer, adding in lots of soy sauce and some coconut milk or passata to taste. I usually use 1 can of coconut milk or passata between 8 servings, but it depends on your preference and portion size really!

Ingredients;

  • Soy sauce (gluten free if needed)
  • Lemon juice
  • Coconut milk OR passata (sieved tomatoes) – make sure you buy 100% tomatoes – no added salt, sugar or other cheeky extras
  • Turkey breast (diced) OR a can of mixed beans (red kidney, black eye, borlotti, baby green lima and pea navy are my choice!)
  • Cauliflower
  • Broccoli
  • Green beans
  • Curly kale
  • Spinach
  • Courgette
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Red and/or green bell pepper
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Peas (I love petit pois)
  • Pak choi
  • Cashew Nuts (raw and unsalted)
  • Desiccated coconut
  • Mixed seeds (I use pumpkin, sunflower, sesame, flax and whatever else comes in the mixed seed pots I buy)

big love

gollygoshgirl

xx

oooh and if you wanna see more tasty healthy recipes just clickย hereย ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “yummy, filling and crazy-healthy stir fry recipe

  1. Pingback: baked red peppers stuffed with goodness | gollygoshgirl

  2. I haven’t made a stir fry for ages! I do love them though… so easy, yummy and healthy. I’ve never added dessicated coconut before. Do you eat it sans rice? I love eating stir fry with brown rice or quinoa… delicious and filling x

    • Yep stir frys are the best ๐Ÿ™‚ I eat it without rice but I add in sweet potato and butternut squash to bulk it out if I feel extra hungry! Brown rice and quinoa are very yummy though – I usually do quinoa with kidney beans, chunks of vegetables, chopped tomatoes, lots of garlic and sometimes tuna. If you try the dessicated coconut let me know how you find it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

