macaroons – perfect every time!

w1lQE7IyDnDconXA5EG5KoQa1A8h9DUmXlZzRd5X6q02CDxLkcP0EBtzoQuBH2zRiiUMjHQsBGnaAj0vhSfaGkRBs36MOr8AEYAbFVLRblc8i_jItynSvSH0rnrXnwLzM

Homebaked Macaroons

One of my best friends introduced me to this recipe, originally intended for those blessed to own an AGA.  She found the original recipe here which is pretty awesome, although personally I needed to adjust it a teensy bit as I have an oven and added in a couple of steps (on her advice) – detailed below.

If you fancy a little look at any more of my homebaking take a peek at my instagram or check out a few of  my other treat-related posts.

Ingredients

  • (Makes 18 macaroons)
  • 3 Egg whites
  • 55g Caster sugar
  • Food colouring of your choice
  • 200g Icing sugar, sieved
  • 125g Ground almonds
  • 300ml Double cream (for the filling)
  • Blended fruit (or thick fruit sauce of your choice) to taste (for the filling)
  • Food colouring (for the filling)

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C (Gas Mark 4)
  2. Beat the egg whites until they reach the ‘soft peak’ stage, then whisk in the caster sugar until it has dissolved.  Whisk in the food colouring.
  3. Mix the icing sugar and ground almonds together in a separate bowl, then fold into the mixture from step 1.  Place this mixture into a piping bag with a 1¼cm plain nozzle.
  4. Pipe rounds on to baking paper placed on a baking sheet, about 2 cm apart.
  5. Tap/drop the baking sheet on the worktop to level off the mixture. Leave to stand for 30 minutes until no longer sticky.  (This is SO the most important step – it’s what creates the feet on the macaroons!)
  6.  Place in the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes until firm.
  7. Once taken out of the oven, leave the cooked macaroons for 5 minutes then move them to a cooling rack.
  8. For the filling, whip the cream and fold in the fruit.
  9. Once the macaroons are completely cool, sandwich them together with the filling

Enjoy!

big love

gollygoshgirl

xx

8 thoughts on “macaroons – perfect every time!

  1. Pingback: homebaked afternoon tea | gollygoshgirl

  2. Pingback: homebaked strawberries and cream macaroons | gollygoshgirl

    • Ah thank you 🙂 they honestly are that easy to make – the pink ones in the photo were my first ever attempt! I’d been putting off trying the recipe for ages as I’d heard how crazy hard macaroons are to get right but for whatever reason this recipe (thankfully) must be foolproof if I can manage to get results! Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post 🙂

  3. Wow, these look so delicious!!! Haha… I actually had to read the original article to find out what an AGA is (never heard of it and definitely not blessed with one myself!) but I’m happy to be reading this with your included modifications. I’ve never been brave enough to make macarons but I might just give this a go my dear! Thanks xx

    • thank you – seriously they are worth a try 🙂 my first ever attempt are the pink ones in the picture and they came out ok! The only issue I’ve had is using purple food colouring in the actual macaroons – they come out looking mouldy! looking forward to seeing your results if you have a go! xx

    • haha ah unfortunately i reckon they may not travel well across an ocean! if you don’t already have a great recipe I fully recommend this one though – if it enables me to make em then it’ll work for anyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

