Liebster Award

8389606534_889e04943e_m

“So, what is a Liebster?  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Isn’t that sweet? Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.”

The very lovely Searching For Sugarplums wrote this and I couldn’t think of a better way to put it.  For those of you who have subjected yourselves to reading any of my proverbial soapbox posts you’ll be aware I quite like the whole celebrating and encouraging others thing.  In fact; I wish there was a lot more of it going around!  Who doesn’t like someone being nice to them?!?

Anyway, I was very kindly mentioned in Searching For Sugarplum’s Liebster Award nominations and am therefore very pleased not only to accept but to be able to nominate 11 brilliant bloggers from my little online community 🙂

These are the rules for accepting a Liebster Award:

  • The award is given by bloggers to bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.
  • Each blogger should answer the questions the tagger has set you.
  • Choose eleven new bloggers to pass the award to, and link them in your post.
  • Create eleven new questions for the chosen bloggers.
  • Go back to their page and tell them about the award.
  • Each blogger should post eleven random facts about themselves.

Firstly, I would like to encourage you to take a peek at the posts of blogger who nominated me.  I love that she has named her blog Searching For Sugarplums because she wants to “turn ordinary moments into celebrations when I can”.  Her baking makes my mouth water just looking at the pictures (and my poor waistline is also going to suffer from my attempts at the yummy recipes).  Check them out for yourself and you’ll see what I mean!

Now the first (and best) part; my nominees 😀

Tales and TeaLaura’s Mess, The Surfer Stoke ProjectThe Quiet BakerThe Sassy ApronWomen’s Health And FitnessWhole To The CoreOccuPIEMama Going NaturalStumble Then RiseA Full Spoon Of …

… aaaaand the question’s I’d love to hear their answers to;

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. Who is your hero (or heroine) and why?
  3. Best piece of advice you’ve been given?
  4. Favourite quote?
  5. One thing you’ve learnt this year?
  6. One goal for this year?
  7. When you were little what did you want to be when you grew up?
  8. Favourite food?
  9. Where would your ideal holiday destination be?
  10. If you could learn one new skill or take up one new hobby what would it be?
  11. What do you see as your greatest success?

Finally; the answers to the questions I was set;

1) What’s your favourite quote?

Ooooooh I have SO MANY!  A few of my favourites are; “In cordiae vis vitae” (the power of life is in the heart), “People were created to be LOVED. things were created to be USED. The reason the world is in chaos is because things are being loved and people are being used”, “If you think you’re too small to make a difference; you’ve obviously never been in bed with a mosquito!”  and “Do not gloat over me my enemy for though I have fallen, I will RISE” Micah 7:8

2) What activity gives you the most meaning and satisfaction?

Spending time with those considered outcasts by society and by doing so having the privilege of being able to be a part of their lives.  It is so incredible to see someone start to realise that they are worth something, begin to believe in themselves and discover the beauty of hope.

3) What’s your favourite thing to bake (or have baked for you)?

I love food!  I love baking anything that will make the recipient feel special – whether that’s their favourite dish or a cake decorated to resemble something meaningful to them.  As far as having something baked for me – YES PLEASE  (I’m not fussy)!!

4) What motivates you to get up in the morning?

Sunshine (although that doesn’t often happen here in the UK), knowing that what happens today could change a life (even if it’s not mine) and anything involving yummy food for breakfast!

5) Who do you admire the most and why?

Hmm this is tricky.  There are so many people who are pretty darn inspirational!  I think Erin Gruwell (Freedom Writers Foundation) is awesome and there are many more names I could drop but to be honest I admire anyone who is fighting on behalf of those that society has given up on or rejected.  Oh, and Ben&Jerry are probably my favourite men in the whole entire world

6) If you had a garden and could only grow three things, what would they be?

Mint (for the smell and yummy use in the kitchen), a grass lawn and multicoloured roses (especially pink ones)

7) Is there anything that makes you smile just thinking about it?

Stories of triumph over adversity get me every time!  Dance always puts a smile on my face and I also love rubbish jokes that are so terrible they’re good 😀

8) What is your idea of the perfect meal?

One eaten with people I care about that includes lots laughter, scrummy cocktails and delicious desserts

9) What did you like to imagine as a kid?

That I was going on holiday (every day), that two fairies lived at the bottom of the garden and that I was the pink Power Ranger.  Wow.  Put like that I sound completely crazy!

10) What do you daydream about now?

Sunshine, dance and what I could be doing if I wasn’t stuck in traffic!

11) Is there a food or drink that always makes you feel better?  What is your idea of comfort food?

Whenever I was ill my mum would make me tomato soup or a baked potato so they spring to mind!  Chocolate or fruit juice tend to put a smile on my face too!

big love

gollygoshgirl

xx

11 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Naw, thank you so much for the lovely nomination – congrats on your award also, you deserve this one and many more!! It’s been such a privilege getting to know you as a blogging friend. Love your Q&A… you have such a gorgeous heart. Hugs! xx

  2. I loved reading your, you must be the sweetest, nicest girl around! It’s so refreshing that you just want to see the good in everyone and make everyone around you happy. I love sunshine too, and also believed there were fairies at the bottom of the garden when I was little. Thank you for answering my questions, I’m really glad I nominated you. It was extremely well deserved:)

      • Thanks, you too! And I was so fairy obsessed as a kid, I’d build houses for them and my friends and I would dance around what we thought were fairy rings and write letters to them. Little did we know, it was our parents and not the fairies writing back! :O

      • this made my day – we got letters from our fairies too (funnily enough they wrote pretty similarly to my mum) Me and one of my sisters even named them Lilac and Rosa!

      • Awww, I love those names so much! How sweet 🙂 The one who wrote me was named Teensy, and then there Ebony the summer fairy and Crystal the winter fairy lol, at least those are the ones I remember! My mom used to leave little tokens too like tiny broomsticks and she’d sprinkle sparkly “fairy dust” on the letters too which was always exciting. Then one morning the gift the fairies left was a key, but after examining it closely, I saw it was made in China and that confused me because it should have been made in fairy land in my mind. So I asked my mom, and she confessed that she was the fairy who had been writing to me, and it was very sad times! 😦 But I always kept believing in my heart secretly that fairies were still real 😛

Leave a Reply

