homebaked healthy almond butter cookies with dark chocolate chips

Photo 28-06-2013 19 15 12

Homebaked Healthy Almond Butter Cookies with Dark Chocolate Chips

Well as you may have realised, my quest for healthy goodness had led me to approach food a little differently.  It has not, however, cured my very sweet tooth.  I know there are a hundred things you are advised to do which will curb your cravings (brush your teeth, eat an apple, distract yourself with a different activity etc etc) BUT sometimes; a girl just.  needs.  chocolate.  And cookies.  And these really hit the spot! These are my second foray into cookies healthy-style and you know what? I much prefer them to the chocolate chip ones I posted a week ago.  Yum 🙂  I found the original recipe on Facebook but there was no source given (apologies if it’s yours – let me know and I’ll give you the credit you deserve!) however as usual I gave it a few tweaks!  Below is my version…

Ingredients

Makes 8 cookies or 16 bitesize cookies

  • 1 1/4 cups canned chickpeas (I just used the whole 400g tin, which is 260g when drained)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbspns (165g) natural almond butter
  • 1/4 cup (80g) agave nectar or honey
  • 1 tspn baking powder (I use gluten free)
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (70% cocoa solids)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF/gas 4
  2. Line your baking trays with greaseproof paper
  3. Drain the chickpeas, rinse them well then make sure there is as little excess water as possible one them.  (It is suggested you pat them dry with a piece of kitchen paper but to be honest I didn’t bother).
  4. Put the chickpeas in a food processor and process until smooth (looking kind of a little bit like moist ground almonds)
  5. Mix all of the ingredients together except the chocolate chips
  6. Add the chocolate chips
  7. The mixture should be pretty sticky.  Using wet hands, form the cookies or cookie bites and place onto the lined baking trays.
  8. Bake in the oven for 10-13 minutes.
  9. Let the cookies cool on the baking trays for a few minutes before cooling on a wire rack.  When they first come out of the oven they are very soft but firm up as they cool.

Enjoy!

big love

gollygoshgirl

xx

3 thoughts on “homebaked healthy almond butter cookies with dark chocolate chips

Leave a comment